Flag of the European Union EU Clinical Trials Register Help

National medicine regulatory authorities

In the European legislative framework, the approval of clinical trial applications is the responsibility of the member states. The national competent authorities and the ethics committees are responsible for authorising a clinical trial taking place in the member state. Also, the national competent authorities are responsible for entering protocol related information that has been submitted to their member state into the EudraCT database. The authorities also add to this information the authorisation of the clinical trial and the opinion from the relevant ethics committee. Once entered, a sub-set of this information is displayed through the EU clinical trials register website.

Version of the website

EU Clinical Trials Register version 2.2


See also:

Glossary PDF document

How to search PDF document

FAQs PDF document

Patients’ and Consumers’ Organisations’ contact information

Healthcare Professionals’

Organisations contact information

Sponsors' contact information

Clarification note on the date of registration in the register PDF document

For the United Kingdom, as of 1 January 2021, European Union law applies only to the territory of Northern Ireland (NI) to the extent foreseen in
the Protocol on Ireland / NI.

For support, please Contact us.

European Medicines Agency © 1995-2024 I Domenico Scarlattilaan 6, 1083 HS Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Legal notice